A possie in Aussie

May 1, 2009

J Bishop gets the right stuff from P.J. O’Rourke

Filed under: asylum,asylum seeker,humor,humour,refugee — Nayano @ 8:10 am
Tags: , , , ,

I love P.J. O’Rourke, and, here’s news, many would consider me rather ‘left’ than ‘right’, and the ‘right’ likes to claim P.J. as their own ‘conservative comic’.

I am grateful to Irfan Yusuf of New Matilda for drawing attention to ABC TV’s Q&A of 23 April when P.J was a panellist, along with Julie Bishop, among others.

When Julie Bishop replayed the ‘Man the barricades, the boatpeople will suffocate us with their enormous numbers’, P.J said:

“You know, we in the States have much, much more experience with being all wrong about immigration than you do. I mean 36,000 you said in Italy? … We laugh. That’s a day in the United States. And we are so wrong about it. I mean, build a fence on the border with Mexico, give a huge boost to the Mexican ladder industry, you know […] the thing is when somebody gets on an exploding boat to come over here – they’re willing to do that to get to Australia – you’re missing out on some really good Australians if you don’t let that person in.”

When Julie Bishop burbled about smugglers, P. J. replied:

“Whoa. Whoa. Whoa. You know, if you open your borders, you don’t have people smugglers.”

Then P.J. mentioned the other unmentionable:

“I’m not seeing any Aborigines on the panel here. I am not a Comanche or a Sioux. You know, my people came over to the United States in a completely disorganised way. Doubtless by way of people smugglers […] I really believe in immigration … Let them in. Let them in. These people are assets. [O]ne or two of them might not be, but you can sort them out later … Oh, I think conservatives are getting this wrong all over the world, I really do.”

Thanks, P.J., now I can admit I like you!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

